Bittersweet Monday

Posted: April 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

Monday was a bit of an emotional rollercoaster.  I woke up remembering the same day, seven years ago, when Jack was born.  I cannot believe he is seven years old already.  He has become such an amazing boy and I’m truly luck to have him in my life.  Unfortunately, he was not at home Monday.  He went to North Carolina to visit his father for the week and didn’t return until the day after his birthday.  I had to settle with a phone call to wish him a happy day and trust that he enjoyed spending time with his father and family. 

Around noon, I received a call from my parents.  My great grandmother, Ruth Deneen, died just shy of her 103rd birthday.  She truly was an amazing lady and I am so honored to have had her as a grandparent.  While I will miss her terribly, I do feel it was the right time.  She lived a long, wonderful life and it was time for her to move on to a better place – where she can watch her beloved Bears games without the assistance of bulky headphones.

This weekend is Easter and so the services for my grandma are not until Monday night.  This makes for an incredibly busy several days ahead.  First, we celebrate Jack’s bday with a party on Saturday.  Easter is Sunday.  And finally, we lay Grandma Ruth to rest the begining of the new week.

Leave a comment