Couch to 5K – UPDATE!

Posted: March 21, 2011 in Life

So here I am, about to complete my third full week of running.  I have been ahead of the program from the beginning, running an average of four times a week instead of the outlined three.  I find that if more than a day passes between runs, it sets me back.  So I try to keep it to one rest day in between.  I also have become more mindful of the weather and take opportunities to run when the conditions are right – even if that means two days in a row.  I just fear that if I don’t go now, things will come up a couple days in a row, and I will be screwed.  Being a single mom means taking the time when it presents itself.  However, I never push myself too far.  I would have loved to go out running yesterday afternoon.  After the storm, the temp was in the 60s and I had plenty of free time.   But having run two days straight, I knew a third day without resting my body would have proved disastrous.

I also took the time to repeat “week three” in the program even though I’ve completed those runs.  ‘Week four’ takes a leap that I knew I wasn’t ready for yet and I don’t want to push myself beyond my limitations.  If I get injured or find myself unable to keep up, I know that I will feel defeated and be less likely to complete my goal.  Tonight, I have the option of doing another re-run or moving on to “week four.”  I will let my body tell me what to do after a long day at work.  If it craves the release of more energy, then I will step it up.  If not, then I will stick with what I know I can handle.  However, my deadline to move up to “week four” is Wednesday.  Eeek!

Aside from working the program and watching as my runs become longer stretches, I have been watching the changes in my body.  I am not someone who cares that much about my weight in numbers as much in how I wear the weight.  One hundred and twenty pounds can look perfect on a petite framed girl but could look sickly on a taller, broader built woman.  It is not the number that counts – its the way I look and feel.  However, when trying to trim down, weight (in numbers) can be one of the only quantifiable measurements.  So for now, I find myself looking to that number.  For the first few weeks, I did not see a change in either the number or my body shape.  But in the last few days, that seemed to change.  My weight dipped a little over the weekend and I find my clothes fitting a little different.  During my massage on Saturday, my massage therapist took notice of the muscle I am building in my legs.  After a few weeks of feeling like I was going nowhere fast, I finally feel like I’ve made a bit of progress!  Yay!

Feeling like I’m making progress, I finally broke down and bought new running shoes.  The shoes I’d been using were decent but I knew I needed something a bit better quality.  After feeling that my commitment has remained on track (no pun intended) so far, I felt the investment was worth my while.  I had someone assess the way I walk/run and he suggested Mizuno’s Wave Inspire.  I have only logged one run in these shoes but I’m hopeful that they will make a difference as I continue my reach for 5K!

Leave a comment